Creative worksPublications

The Hub: Pioneers of Network Music

Segments : Creation Pedagogy
Tag : Book

book depicting the collective’s work of the pioneer US ensemble The Hub

The book depicts the collective’s work of the US ensemble The Hub in a historical context.

It allows companions and musicologists to have their say and brings together the group’s (annotated) compositional writings for the first time. These scores form the heart of the book and are not only archival documents, but also instructions for playing and the starting point for future projects of a new generation of network music.


The US ensemble The Hub is one of the pioneers of network music and live coding.

The formation consisting of Tim Perkis, Scot Gresham-Lancaster, Chris Brown, John Bischoff, Phil Stone, and Mark Trayle emerged from the League of Automatic Music Composers in 1986.


They revolutionized electronic music with democratically organized composition and performance processes operating in networks and received the Giga-Hertz Prize from the ZKM | Hertz-Lab.


Editor: Ludger Brümmer, ZKM | Hertz-Lab

Co-Editors: Cecilia Preiß, ZKM | Hertz-Lab & Gino Robair

Texts: Ludger Brümmer, Alvin Curran, Golo Föllmer, Barbara Golden, Shelly Knotts, Thomas Lehn, Jon Leidecker, George Lewis, Gino Robair, Julian Rohrhuber, Carter Scholz, Laetitia Sonami, Atau Tanaka, Peter Weibel