Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble

contemporary music ensemble

The Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble is an innovative project in Portugal due to its core structure being the permanent combination of 7 acoustic instruments (flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, viola, percussion) + soprano voice with electronics relying on the Miso Studio’s technical expertise.
Alongside the development and performance of new works, the Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble’s repertoire covers some of the most important works for ensemble of the 20th and 21st centuries.

One of the key features of this project is the commission of new works, hence encouraging the strong and vibrant development of contemporary chamber music with electronics, with a special attention given to Portuguese creation. Since 2007 it has commissioned 51 works to Portuguese and foreign composers.

The Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble composed by a pool of exceptional musicians with individual careers as soloists, has gained since his premiere in September 2007 an outstanding artistic level and is already a reference in Portugal and abroad. In addition to its concert circulation around Portugal, Paris, Warsaw Autumn Festival, Bilbao Guggenheim Museum, City of London Festival, Seoul, Tokyo, Berlin and Canada.
The Sond’Ar-te is strongly involved in media music theatre projects, in the development of educational activities such as the Forum for Young Composers, and Academy for young musicians and nurturing new audiences by presenting special programmes for young audiences.

In addition the Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble promotes since 2008 an annual international composition competition “Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble – chamber music with electronics”.

Pedro Neves & Miguel Azguime

Sílvia Cancela: flute
Nuno Pinto: clarinet
Vítor Vieira: violin
Jorge Alves: viola
Filipe Quaresma: cello
Luis André Ferreira: cello
Elsa Silva: piano
João Dias: percussion

Pedro Neves
Guillaume Bourgogne

Paula Azguime: sound projection
Miso Studio: computer music development
Andre Barteski: live-electronics development
Perseu Mandillo: computer music assistant
Gilberto Bernardes : live-electronics development

Laurent Cuniot
Petter Sundkvist
Pedro Carneiro
Pedro Amaral
Jean-Sébastien Béreau
Franck Ollu

Camila Mandillo: soprano
Frances M. Lynch: soprano
Marina Pacheco: soprano
Ágata Mandillo: voice performer
Rosinda Costa: voice performer
Miguel Azguime: voice performer
Marion Ralincourt: flute
Ana Raquel Lima: flute
Monika Streitova: flute
Henrique Portovedo – saxophone
Hugo Queiróz: clarinets
Suzanna Lidegran: violin
José Pereira: violin
Pedro Carneiro: percussion
Pedro Tavares: percussion
Tomás Moital: percussion
Marco Pereira: cello
Valter Freitas – cello
Nelson Ferreira: cello
Nuno Abreu: cello
Ana Telles: piano
Joana Gama: piano
Hisako Hirata: piano
Luís Gomes: clarinet
Laurent Rossi: horn
Sérgio Pacheco: trumpet